AFNI Message Board

Dear AFNI users-

We are very pleased to announce that the new AFNI Message Board framework is up! Please join us at:

https://discuss.afni.nimh.nih.gov

Existing user accounts have been migrated, so returning users can login by requesting a password reset. New users can create accounts, as well, through a standard account creation process. Please note that these setup emails might initially go to spam folders (esp. for NIH users!), so please check those locations in the beginning.

The current Message Board discussion threads have been migrated to the new framework. The current Message Board will remain visible, but read-only, for a little while.

Sincerely, AFNI HQ

History of AFNI updates  

|
June 07, 2021 02:35AM
Hi there,

Sorry if this is a very silly question but I am new to fMRI and just wanted to clarify something about event vs. blocked designs:

Some literature suggests that for a fMRI design we are planning, we should rapidly switch between our two stimulation types (vibratory stimuli of different frequencies, 3Hz for one condition, 30Hz for another).

Question 1.
If we present stimulation in ~8 second bursts, switching from 3Hz (8 sec) - 30Hz (8 sec) - 30Hz (8 sec) etc. over a run, would this be considered a blocked design - as we are presenting a block of stimulation each time (8 sec)? Or, would it be considered event related - as we switch back and forth between (fairly short) stimuli types, with no gap in between? I know event related means short events, but I am not 100% clear on how long the stimulus presentation needs to be before it becomes a block of stimulation (I might have missed something here).

Question 2.